® 
|
|
As the Nigerian group is defrauding seamen and other mariners by sending fake job offers, so this Malaysian group is faking employment offers on cruise liners. On this page you find an example of a fake cruise liner job offer as well as a fake job offer that seems to have some connection to cruise liners. I also give some ideas on how to check if the offer you have received is real or not. Some targets / victims have sent me copies of other fake job offers on cruise ships that they have received. I do report on those also. |
|

| Additional Pages >> |
Marine Glossary | C.V. Examples | Advice for Newcomers | Cadet Training | Marine Job Application | PSC Summary | ISPS Summary | Ballast Water | Top 20 Recruiters |
Please note; All links on this page open in a new window. If your "pop-up killer" is too efficient it can stop also new windows. When this happens, press "Ctrl" and click again on the link. In July 2006 an Indian AB received a job offer from Oasis Cruises in Malaysia (Port Dickson), 2.800 USD per month, on one of their cruise liners. A few days later he received an other message from a Malaysian (Kuala Lumpur) attorney office, stating salary 2.500 USD per month and asking for 600 USD processing fee for Malaysian work permit. This was bank transfer to a Malaysian bank. The lawyers request was signed by Mohammed Abus, Senior Partner of "Anaclet Chambers" in Kuala Lumpur, tel. ++ 617 355 1797. "Anaclet Chambers" is not registered with the Malaysian Bar Association and therefore not authorized to act as an advocate or solicitor. You are advised to take extra caution in dealing with this firm or any person (Mr Mohammed Abus) from that firm. You can check any other lawyer's office by contacting Malaysian Bar Association. Mr Abus is also mentioned on the page Cruise Ship employment scam from before. The picture to the right is a copy of the job offer. The "Oasis Cruises" gave tel. no. ++ 601 229 64213 and 601 630 35304 (in Malaysia), address: 456 Jalan Gombak, Port Dickson. The message was signed by Datuk Seri Muhammed Rahimi, Senior Manager, Human Resources & Administration. The "company" have a website: www.oasiscruises.com. Due to coding errors only dark blue background can be seen in Explorer, while Firefox shows the pages OK. The server is owned by Telekom Malaysia Berhad and the email is on: oasiscruises.com On the website it's stated the company is doing around the world cruises, like for instance Australia to Southampton (UK). It's also said at least one of their cruise ships carries 245 passengers. There is a page with six photos of "cruise liners". Two of the ship's photos are duplicated, and one of these is both from abeam and from the starboard bow. So out of six pictures, there's a total of three ships only. The website lists the names of five ships: Wuma Viva, Oasis Princess, Viva, Conda, and Wuma. Only the name "Viva" can be found in ITU ( International Telecommunications Union ). Several ships with this name are listed but only two with EPIRB - both registered in Germany. When you zoom in on the ship pictures the flag looks very much Malaysian, it's definitely not German. EPIRB ( Electronic Position Indicating Radar Beacon ) is mandatory on every ocean-going / foreign going ship. A ship without this is used in domestic / coastal trade only. The one example above is not the only target - this offer is continuously sent to seafarers (cruise ship crew) who have their email address available on the internet. This cruise ship employment scam was still going strong in 2007. Mr Mohammed Abus at Anaclet Chambers in Kuala Lumpur still busy collecting money (?). Last fake job offer I know about was received in October 2007. I hope not too many people are sending him anything. If you get anything like the offer and request for advance fee like above, you can check if the lawyer is a member of the Malaysian Bar Association or not. Go to List of Malaysian Lawyers 2005, the list was compiled by US Embassy ( Consular Section ) in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia). Even if the lawyer isn't listed, he/she could have been admitted to the bar later, but that in itself is a reason for extreme caution. You need Adobe Reader 8.0 ( 128 MB ) to open the document. In March 2008 I received a "funny" job offer - funny in the way it didn't offer any specific job positions at all. It wasn't even directly concerned with maritime employment except for a banner with a cruise liner at top. The banner serves as a link to www.cruiseinc.com, which I believe is a US cruise ticketing company. I quote the message: |
![]() |
QUOTE: FROM THE DIRECTOR GENERAL,There are no names mentioned in the job offer itself, but this ends with an "advertisement" for an immigration services company with the same address as this "global shipping company" and an animated ( moving ) Canadian flag. |
|
|||||
|
May 13, 2008 |
|
since Aug. 08, 2006 according to www.digits.com/ |
|
+ 10.000 Statcounter |
|
|